National Assembly reconstituted with 550 MPs

South Sudan President Salva Kiir Mayardit (Right) during his arrival from South Africa and welcomed by his Deputy Dr Riek Machar Teny at JIA on Sunday, 18 April 2021. Photo Credited: Office of the President

South Sudan’s parliament reconstituted with 550 national MPs from political parties appointed in a Presidential decree read on SSBC on Monday evening.

Former Incumbent Transitional Government of National Unity (ITGoNU) takes 332 members, 128 MPs appointed under SPLM-IO, SSOA with 50 members, other political parties 30 representatives, and the Former Detainees with 10.

Their appointment came after President Salva Kiir dissolved the assembly over the weekend. The peace agreement mandated the President to appointed members of parliament for both national and states MPs

The Unity government was formed over a year ago without unified legislators.

Last week, Civil society groups expressed frustration over the delay in the reconstitution of the Transitional National Legislative Assembly in the Revitalize Peace Agreement.

The Center for Peace and Advocacy viewed parliament reconstitution delay as a “worrying and disturbing” signal to the citizens to achieve sustainable peace, security, and development.

Activists Ter Manyang welcome the reconstitution of parliament said their advocacy become a success.

The Parties to the agreement have failed to pass the fiscal year budget for 2021/ 22 due to the absence of the parliament.

Article 1.14 in the peace agreement stated; The Transitional National Legislature (TNL) shall consist of the Transitional Legislative Assembly (TNLA) and the Council of State.  The council of State is yet to be reconstituted.

Twitter Feeds

Facebook Feeds