The RJMEC, Citizens welcomes swearing-in of National Legislators

South Sudan's National Legislative Assembly building in Juba

The Reconstituted Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission (RJMEC) welcomes the swearing-in of the members of the reconstituted Transitional National Legislative Assembly (TNLA) and the Council of States of the Revitalized Transitional Government of National Unity (RTGoNU) of the Republic of South Sudan.

The peace monitors also commend the Unity government for appointed Rt Hon. Jemma Nunu Kumba and Hon. Deng Deng Akon as the Speaker of the reconstituted TNLA and the Council of States (CoS), respectively.

R-JMEC described the appointment of women in top positions as a commendable step in line with the spirit of the Revitalised Agreement.

“These two bodies form the Transitional National Legislature (TNL). A legislature made up of members from the different Parties to the R-ARCSS and representing the diverse people of South Sudan performs vital tasks, including making and debating legislation and performing oversight tasks,” JMEC stated.

The peace monitoring body said members of the reconstituted TNLA have lots to do, including ratifying the amended security bills and the Constitutional Amendment Bill No. 8 (2020) drafted.

Citizens also added their voices said the Lawmakers should make bills that prevent cattle raiding, child abduction and account the corrupt officials in government who misused public fund. They (citizens) worrying of insecurity that stopped many farmers do not produce their own food. Many said government failure to implement rule of law causes rampant insecurity.

South Sudan sworn in Five hundred National Assembly MPs and ninety-two Council of states members on Monday before Chief Justice Chan Reech Madut at Freedom Hall in Juba. Fifty-six MPs missed the swearing-in ceremony. The Clerk of the parliament said those members were not on the registered list for reasons unknown.

Twitter Feeds

Facebook Feeds